Questions regarding yoga

Well guys, I tried out the yoga thing today.  After setting three different alarms for 9:15, 9:30 and 10:00 (all AM), I finally decided to face the day around 11:45 (AM). Small steps. After checking the necessary social media I tried out Google in an effort to find an online (and very free) yoga tutorial. Clicked on the second link brought to me via search and tried it on or size. Didn’t fit. About 10 minutes in I got bored. Like really bored. Is that normal? All I could think about was other things I’d rather be doing like folding laundry or feeding my cats.  Basically, I gave up. I don’t know if it’s the fact that it was just me laying on my floor with my cat staring at me and some woman I didn’t know telling me to release my stress but it just didn’t do it for me. I’m blaming my cat. He really made things awkward. 

Questions I have about yoga (yoga practicers only):
1. Are classes easier to stay engaged in?
2. Can you practice yoga if you have ADD?
3. How does your cat (if you have one) feel about you doing yoga? If you ever practice at home does he watch you like you’re an idiot who should probably just go back to bed or is my cat just a stuck-up bitch?
4. Is this a legit online yoga site?
5. Did you struggle with yoga at first or did it just come naturally to you?
6. Does music help concentrate or whatever? (I felt kind of weird with the silence)
7. Should I try something different that is not yoga?

Anyways, I ended up turning off the video and laying on the living room floor for about 5 more minutes and then decided to make some tea and watch last night’s episode of New Girl while eating Nutella and pretzels. Surprisingly I felt so much more calm and happy after doing so. I don’t know if it’s the fact that my meds kicked in at that point or maybe it was just the little dose of yoga I put in my system but whatever the reason my day all of a sudden seemed brighter and hopeful. Maybe that’s the key: doing something that make you feel like you for a few minutes before starting the day. Maybe that’s why yoga resonates with so many people, because it’s their time to reflect and feel happy about being themselves. While I would like to say yoga does that for me instead of Zooey Deschanel and Nutella but after my failed attempt I’m beginning to believe it’s not the best route to self appreciation and peace for myself. Maybe Zooey and Nutella are my “yoga” in the sense that they do for me what I would like yoga to do for me. But I’m not completely giving up my dream of being one of those cool yoga girls who is really happy and peaceful and gives great insightful advice. HELP ME.

In an effort to feel peaceful and calm I leave you with a song that makes me happy, peaceful, calm, at ease, confident, beautiful, just amazing all around whenever I listen to it. If a song could be “yoga” this would be it:

Leave a Reply

