Sorry in advanced for how cheesy this is…

Things I’ve recently learned:

  1. It’s okay if someone doesn’t like you.  It happens.  People dislike you or don’t understand you or think you’re the worst for a specific reason or maybe no reason at all.  But there’s nothing you can do to change it so there’s no sense in worrying about it.  Especially because….
  2. It’s okay not to like someone.  This also is something that happens.  And this is also not something to worry about.  There’s no reason to pretend you like someone or that you’re friends with someone when you actually would be okay if you didn’t see or hear about them like ever.  Life is way too short to pretend to care about people you actually don’t care about at all.  And if you don’t like someone, there’s probably a very good chance they don’t like you either. Let bygones be bygones, ya know?Image
  3. Treat those who treat you well as well as they treat you.  And you should probably aim for treating them better than they treat you. This should definitely be a given but for one reason or another, for me, it’s not.  A lot of times the people who are always there for us and treating us with respect and love are the people who we take for granted.  Probably because we know they’ll always be there for us no matter how terrible we act and there’s more satisfaction in getting a person who treats you badly most of the time to treat you like a decent human being once.  It’s messed up.  But I’ve come to realize that it’s really stupid and that I should only care about those people who treat me better than I deserve.
  4. I have the greatest friends in the world. No, really, my friends are amazing.  I honestly don’t know if I could have gotten through the past couple of months without them constantly telling me that I’m a great person and how proud they are of me, etc. etc. I couldn’t have been luckier in finding a group of girls (and guys) who always answer the phone even if it’s the middle of the night and I’m crying about something like a movie ending.  These people deserve a medal because they have seen me at the absolute worst and still (for reasons I have not been able to figure out) want to be seen with me in public. FRIENDS I LOVE YOU. And this picture is insanely cheddar but it’s so true (also pretend it says friends that are boys in there too).Image
  5. There’s nothing better than going to sleep before 10:30 p.m. and waking up early enough to enjoy the morning.  I won’t say that I particularly enjoy getting out of bed in the mornings but once I’m out of bed, I have sort of started to enjoy mornings.  They’re seriously beautiful.  Unless it’s raining.  Then they suck, regardless.
  6. I eat way too much Nutella and like owls way too much.  Seriously, it’s becoming a problem.  I’ve received texts telling me that it’s a problem.  I have a jar of Nutella at my desk and then at least 2 jars at home. I also catch myself googling “owls” in my free time. But how can you not think this is the best?! Image
  7. I’m responsible for my happiness.  Cheesy, I know, but true.  I’m the only person who can dictate how things are going to affect me or how I’m going to react to them.  If I choose to let something upset me or make me mad then that’s my fault.  It’s also okay if I lose control sometimes and let something upset me that shouldn’t.  It’s chill and I just need to accept it, get myself together, and keep going.
  8. Even Pandora gets tired sometimes.  It really makes no sense but I honestly think that Pandora just gets tired of choosing songs that we’ll like.  For example, today I was listening and it went from the Beatles to Nickelback.  Just like, no. Never.
  9. I have a habit of getting way too attached to fictional characters.  I don’t think I’ve ever felt anger or sadness like I have felt this season of Downton Abbey.  I actually can feel my blood pressure rising just thinking about it.  I’m still not over it.  And I’m not sure if I ever will be.  I feel as if I’m part of the cast of Girls.  I dream that I am.  Seriously, I dream that it’s real and I’m one of their friends.  The same happens in books.  I don’t know if I’ve ever cried as much over a book as I did while reading Looking For Alaska. Amazing book but I think it broke my heart more than an actual person ever could.  I can’t tell if getting attached like this is going to be a problem one day or not.  My guess is that it probably will.

Not trying to say I have it all together by any means.  But you don’t have to have it all together to be happy.  And I am insanely happy.

I’m not usually a huge fan of Mumford but I must admit that I’m obsessed with this:

One thought on “Sorry in advanced for how cheesy this is…

  1. This is the first time I’ve checked out your blog, and I enjoyed reading it 🙂 You are a talented and relatable writer, Fraser! I especially love that you gave a shout out to a John Green book-good taste for sure! I request a signed copy of your first YA novel and a visit to whatever classroom or library I may be working in.

Leave a Reply

