Walking like summer

It really is miraculous how much of a difference sunshine makes. Yesterday, I woke up and it was dreary and rainy and I felt terrible and just didn’t care about facing the day. So I didn’t. I went to work for a few hours, felt sick, and came home where I remained hiding in my bed until basically this morning. Now, I am aware that my actions were very childish and not the most mature by any means but I couldn’t help it. The sun wasn’t out, why should I be?

Today began to appear to follow yesterday’s forecast at first but luckily, the sun eventually was able to make an appearance and my mood thankfully improved. I now know that there’s no way I could ever live in a place where it’s rainy or cloudy more than not. For example, Seattle. Like no. There’s no way. Ever. Don’t get me wrong, I can sometimes appreciate a good rainy day but it’s definitely not an ideal situation for me most of the time. The same goes with cold weather. I can deal for a little while, you know, for Christmas when it makes sense but other than that count me out. I’m all about the sunshine and warmth.
Image

The thing about this desire for it to always be sunny and warm is that it’s not realistic. It rains everywhere at some point. And it gets a little chilly everywhere at some point. Even the desert (I think). That’s why after yesterday it has become very evident to me how important it is to make your own sunshine. Excuse the cliche, but it’s true. The sun wasn’t out and it was cold so I made the decision that I had no business being out either. And that’s not right.

There’s something great to be said about people who make their own sunshine wherever they go. You know the people I’m talking about, the ones who upon entering the scene instantly make the room seem brighter and warmer and just basically better. I think we should all strive to be like those people who even on the darkest, coldest days are still like summer. I mean this in both a literal way and also in a metaphorical way. Even if they’re having the worst day of their lives you would never know. I don’t mean you should be fake or act overly happy constantly. If something terrible happened every single person has the right to react in that way. I mean that in an instance such as yesterday for me where I just was in a bad mood even though nothing bad had actually happened besides the fact that I was pissed it was cold. 

So here’s to making your own sunshine and making (or at least putting forth a little bit of effort into) those we come into contact with’s days a little brighter and warmer. Because who knows? Maybe they need some sun in their life that day. It’s like Train said “she acts likes summer.” I’m trying to act like summer. At least until it actually is summer. Because we all know it’s the best time of the year.

Leave a Reply

