Free love

I usually would rather not remark on topics that are too controversial in my writings. Topics such as the gun debate or if Justin Bieber is the next Michael Jackson are things that I’d rather not approach because I’d prefer not to get into a heated debate and I’d rather just avoid the whole confrontational aspect of it anyways. But, I read an article last night tweeted at me by my dear friend Connor  (check out her blog here) that was entitled “33 Unusual Tips to Being A Better Writer.” And there were actually some things on that list that really hit home with me. Be honest, be opinionated, don’t be afraid of what people think, and risk. These are all things that I have trouble actually doing in my writing because I am so worried about the fact that someone could hate me or not want to read anything I write because of something I have said. But then I realized that that’s not the point of writing. The point of writing isn’t to please others, or at least for me that’s not what I view writing as. The point of writing is to get your feelings and what you know to be your truths out in the world. So that’s why I have decided to discuss the Supreme Court hearing regarding same-sex marriage which began today.

As I’m sure many of you are aware, today is the day that the Supreme Court began hearing arguments that could reshape the way that America defines marriage. As of now, marriage is defined by the union of a man and a woman. This is bullshit. Marriage isn’t an institution that should be entered in simply because you are a man and a woman. Marriage is about love. Or at least that’s what I thought it had something to do with. This isn’t the 1600s anymore. People don’t get married (or I don’t think they do) to create a union between kingdoms or to settle peace between two countries. At least that isn’t how America does things. Marriage is something that should be taken seriously and be about being bonded together for the rest of your life (or sometimes only a few months) to the person you love the most. This shouldn’t have anything to do with genders. 

I am a Christian. I believe in God and praying and everything that comes with being a Christian besides the notion that people have associated with Christianity that God hates people who are homosexual. That is not the God that I believe in. The God I believe in loves everyone equally. 1 John 4:8 reads “God is love.” Who are we to choose who can and cannot love? That is not our decision. And it is an abomination that people try to make this law that marriage can only be between a woman and a man about what God wants. I do not believe that God wants us to hate one another or treat one another unequally because of who someone chooses to love. God is love. That means he loves those who love. I don’t mean those who love killing or love the devil. I mean those who love others with compassion and treat other, no matter who they are, with love and compassion. 

In Mark, the Bible also says that there is no other greater commandment besides loving your neighbor as yourself. I take that to mean that if you hate your neighbor, or another person, simply because of their beliefs, does that not mean that you actually hate a part of yourself? If you don’t love yourself and all the dark and twisty parts, how can you love another person? 

No one in this country or this world even has the right to dictate that marriage should only be between a male and a female. I know plenty of gay couples who love and take their relationship more serious than many heterosexual couples do. How can you honestly believe that they should not be bound in marriage together just because someone hundreds of years ago believed they shouldn’t. Have we forgotten inequality that used to exist legally between races? Let’s reflect on that for a moment and realize how silly that seems to us now. Every person is created equally with a loving heart. Who we choose to love with our heart or don’t love with our heart shouldn’t be decided by anyone other than our own personal selves. Love is for everyone and we cannot move forward until this hatred for each other simply based on what we fear or what is different to us is wiped out. This is 2013, it is unacceptable for anyone to view homosexuality as unacceptable. That would be like saying it is unacceptable to have anything other than a Mac laptop because that’s all you use. Get the malice out of your heart people. It’s all about love. No matter the gender, race, shoe size, pants size, if they like cats or not, it’s simply about love. 

Image

Let your colors show everybody

 

Leave a Reply

